"If you're an Elvis fan, no explanation is necessary; If you're not an Elvis fan, no explanation is possible."

(George Klein)



"History has him as this good old country boy, Elvis is about as country as Bono!"

(Jerry Schilling)








In honor of the King's 70th birthday, BMG Strategic Marketing will release the brand new collection Love, Elvis, a CD that brings together twenty-four of Elvis' greatest romantic songs, including a previously unreleased alternate take of "For The Good Times."

Written by Kris Kristofferson, "For The Good Times" was take three, recorded March 27, 1972 and forgoing string accompaniment.

Love, Elvis, which will be released January 25, also includes classics "Can't Helping Falling In Love," "It's Now or Never" (both with The Jordanaires) "Love Me Tender," and "I Want You, I Need You, I Love You." This collection spans Elvis' entire career, featuring recordings from 1956 to 1977.

BMG Strategic Marketing is also launching a reissue program of Elvis Presley's albums with the January 11 re-releases of Elvis Presley, Elvis and Loving You, the King's first three albums and three of rock n' roll's all time greats. Each release is digitally remastered using DSD Technology for optimum sound and each reissue includes bonus tracks, rare photographs, and original album art.

The first rock n' roll album ever to reach no. 1, the March 1956 Elvis Presley includes "Blue Suede Shoes" and "Blue Moon" and the bonus tracks include the hit single "Heartbreak Hotel." Its distinctive album cover, with a black and white picture of a gyrating Elvis and the title written in pink and green, became so iconic that The Clash referenced it on their 1979 'London Calling' LP. Released in October 1956, the No. 1 Elvis, which counts "Don't Be Cruel," "Hound Dog," and "Love Me Tender" among its bonus tracks, was Presley's first release conceived as an album in its entirety.

Made up of eighteen tracks, Elvis also includes a rare treat, the King's first ever self-accompaniment on piano on "Old Shep," which he had previously sung in 1945 at the Mississippi-Alabama Fair and Dairy Show. While side one of 1957's No. 1 Loving You was the film's soundtrack, side two featured Elvis singing popular ballads.

This reissue includes twenty tracks. Sony BMG Music Entertainment is a global recorded music joint venture between Bertelsmann and Sony Corporation with a roster of current artists that includes a broad array of both local artists and international superstars, as well as a vast catalog that comprises some of the most important recordings in history.

BMG Strategic Marketing Group is a fully integrated organization for the U.S. that brings together BMG Heritage, BMG Special Products, Partnership Marketing, Digital Licensing and Direct Response TV, as well as licensing activities on behalf of all the BMG U.S. labels.

This structure of the BMG Strategic Marketing Group offers tremendous benefit to BMG and its businesses by increasing coordination amongst various teams and business units responsible for all levels of exploitation, across product lines and across labels. Visit www.elvisthemusic.com.

"Love, Elvis" Track List

1. Are You Lonesome Tonight?

2. Can't Help Falling In Love

3. Always On My Mind

4. It's Now Or Never

5. Love Me Tender

6. I Want You, I Need You, I Love You

7. Don't

8. (Now And Then There's) A Fool Such As I

9. Any Way You Want Me

10. Surrender

11. Hawaiian Wedding Song

12. Doin' The Best I Can

13. Fever

14. It Hurts Me

15. I Just Can't Help Believin'

16. The Wonder Of You

17. Let It Be Me

18. It's Impossible

19. For The Good Times (previously unreleased)

20. There Goes My Everything

21. And I Love You So

22. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me

23. Unchained Melody

24. If I Can Dream

"Elvis Presley" Track List

1. Blue Suede Shoes

2. I'm Counting On You

3. I Got A Woman

4. One-Sided Love Affair

5. I Love You Because

6. Just Because

7. Tutti Frutti

8. Trying To Get To You

9. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry (Over You)

10. I'll Never Let You Go

11. Blue Moon

12. Money Honey


13. Heartbreak Hotel

14. I Was the One

15. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy

16. Shake, Rattle And Roll

17. My Baby Left Me

18. I Want You, I Need You, I Love You

"Elvis" Track List

1. Rip It Up

2. Love Me

3. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again

4. Long Tall Sally

5. First In Line

6. Paralyzed

7. So Glad You're Mine

8. Old Shep

9. Ready Teddy

10. Anyplace Is Paradise

11. How's The World Treating You

12. How Do You Think I Feel


13. Playing For Keeps

14. Too Much

15. Don't Be Cruel

16. Hound Dog

17. Any Way You Want Me

18. Love Me Tender

"Loving You" Track List

1. Mean Woman Blues

2. Teddy Bear

3. Loving You

4. Got A Lot O' Livin' To Do!

5. Lonesome Cowboy

6. Hot Dog

7. Party

8. Blueberry Hill

9. True Love

10. Don't Leave Me Now

11. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You

12. I Need You So


13. Tell Me Why

14. Is It So Strange

15. One Night Of Sin

16. When It Rains, It Really Pours

17. I Beg Of You (Alternate master)

18. Party (Alternate master)

19. Loving You (Uptempo version)

20. Got A Lot O' Living' To Do! (Finale)

(News, Source: EPE/BMG)










Feature interviews for November
Paul Simpson
Ed Bonja (Part 2)
Ed Bonja
Ernst Jorgensen
Phil Aitcheson (Presley Commission)
Latest Reviews
DVD: This Is Elvis
FTD: One Night In Vegas
CD: Movin' Mobile
CD: Fort Baxter's Greatest Hits
Book: The Elvis Archives
Book: The Tupelo-Memphis Murders
FTD: Double Trouble
FTD: Closing Night
Concert: TCB Band downunder
Book: Elvis Sessions 3
Book: Sex, Drugs & Rock 'n' Roll
Book: Such Vicious Minds
CD: The Roots of Elvis
CD: The 50 Greatest Love Songs
Book: Elvis My Dad
Book: Elvis #1 Complete Chart History
Book: Elvis Presley The Man. The Life. The Legend.
DVD: Elvis A 50th Anniversary Celebration
Book: Raised on Elvis! Elvis! Elvis!
DVD review: "The Elvis Collection"
Book: Jailhouse Rock The Bootleg Records of Elvis Presley
VCD: Elvis In Concert (1977 CBS TV Special)
DVD review: Follow That Dream
FTD review: The Impossible Dream
Book review: Caught In A Trap
DVD review: Spinout
DVD review: Aloha From Hawaii
CD: Elvis At Sun
DVD: Comeback Special
Did you miss?
Exclusive excerpts from "The King Is Dead"
All about Lisa Marie Presley
All about Graceland
FTD review- Elvis: New Year's Eve
FTD review: The Impossible Dream
DVD review: 200 Cadillacs
Book review: The World According to Elvis


Elvis Odd Spot (updated 17 Nov 2004)